Excursion – Rakov – Ivenets
By city: Rakov, Ivenets
Duration of excursion – 8 hours
Kilometrage of the route: 130 km.
Rakov – a small village (agro), located on the banks of the river Isloch. There are several theories about the origin of its name. Some sources indicate that the cancer was established by some warrior named or nicknamed Cancer. Others are inclined that the name comes from the word “cancer”, which translated from the Belarusian language means “river”. For the first time the village of Rakov mentioned in chronicles dating back to 1465 year. In 1579 settlement received the status of town. Since then Rakov repeatedly passed over from one kind to another magnate. For centuries, there lived people of different nationalities and religions. During the tour in Rakov scheduled inspection of the church of the Virgin Mary and St. Dominic Ruzhantsovoy, built in neo-Gothic style, a small chapel of St. Anne, located on the territory of the ancient cemetery and the church of the Transfiguration -. One of the major architectural landmarks of cancer and other objects.
After a visit to Rakov road leads to the township Ivenets located on Volma river. It was first mentioned in chronicles in 1470 as a Givenech. There is a beautiful legend occurrence Ivenets that tells travelers guide.
For a long time the village owned by feudal lords Sollogoub. In 1522 Ivenets received the status of town. The main attractions of the village are the Church of St. Michael the Archangel and the Church of St.. Alexei. With Ivyanets also linked the fate of the Belarusian folk craftsman, woodcarver Apollinaris navel. He lived for more than 90 years old and left behind hundreds of sculptures, paintings, dra